Water Polo Referee course – register now!


The Water Polo WA Referee course is open for registrations!referee

Date of course: Sunday the 17th of September 2017

Time:  9am – 3pm

Presenters: Mark Ridgwell NWPL/FINA (National Water Polo League) referee and Chair of Water Polo WA Referees Commission. Mark will be assisted by Gabor Boros NWPL/FINA referee.  

Venue: Royal Life Saving Society building (beside HBF Stadium,  McGillivray Rd  – parking next to the UWA Super turf

Fee: $60 inclusive of Coaching Fee, Work Books, Rule Book, whistle, lanyard

  • Direct Deposit Details: WPWAI ( please include R.course on payment description)
  • BSB: 306 051 
  • Account Number: 419786 2
  • You must email confirmation of electronic transfer to: Tibor Seress Competition and Development Manager to cdm@waterpolowa.asn.au 

How to Register

Registrations are open until 13th of September 2017 via this link:


Pre-course work

It is a Water Polo Australia’s requirement that all participants must complete the requested online courses and present certificates (email) to  cdm@waterpolowa.asn.au prior the course

To access the online courses please register first through this link:


Once registered please search for the following online courses:

  •  Free Play by the Rules (PBRT) Harassment and Discrimination – Online training about how to prevent and deal with Discrimination and Harassment for the sport and recreation industry. 
  • Free Play by the Rules (PBRT) Child Protection – Online training for Child Protection for the sport and recreation industry
  • Free online Introductory Officiating General Principles – Online training to assist new and returning referees about basic skills

Certificates can be saved on file or printed out after completion of each online course!

 If you have any question please feel free to contact Water Polo WA on 08 9387 7555 .

Senior Awards Night – and the winners were!


Huge thanks to the ‘Sisters’ who organised this season’s Celebration and Awards Night.   A great evening was had by all that attended on Saturday.

Well done to our Senior Members on another solid season of water polo. It was fantastic to see the turn out to our Awards Night and to share in the laugh20170429_165903ter and stories that made the season special. There were some very funny Golden Moments, and some interesting”hidden team talents” that were shared among the group! 

Big shout out to our MVP’s for each team – great work! (see below)

For those that were present to receive your award, we hope you enjoyed the special treatment and free drink on the MVP Lounge this year!!

And a big congratulations to our Best Outstanding Team Contribution Award winners, the Men’s Div 3 Bears. This award, proudly presented by Steve O’Keefe, recognises team spirit, commitment to water polo, mate-ship and importantly the giving back and supporting of others in the Club.20170429_220651

The Div 3 Bears resonate these traits, especially under the guidance of popular Team Manager Keith. Ask Keith about his newly learned Hungarian phrases too!! He is preparing the boys for Budapest. And his team were the only team to win a Senior Premiership this year!! 

It was also great to see 2 of their players, Mark Mason and Rob Cullingford, recognised for their contribution to grass roots junior development through their coaching of U14 Boys and Girls teams over the past few years. Both men took their teams to State gold medals this year. Well done gentleman!

IMG_1437    20170429_22081020170429_214322

IMG_1425  18157214_10210648317897822_6130901107159348345_n 18157267_10210648317577814_4081794953616645211_nIMG_1420IMG_1439

20170429_220722 IMG_1416 IMG_1440 20170429_214355 IMG_1432

The infamous Dunny Seat award was won by Hendo….who sent Dave “most unlikely player to ever win this award” Cullingford to collect his award for him! Another smear on the seat Hendo! You need to ask Hendo what he did to earn this award!


20170429_220814 20170429_214829

Congratulations to all of our Award Winners for 2016/17

Special Awards    
Team of the Season Men’s Division 3 Bears
Manager of the Season Keith Robinson
The ‘Dunny Seat’ Award Daniel Henderson
Contribution to Jnr Water Polo Mark Mason and Rob Cullingford
 Polo Bear of the Year Fia Rigo  
Most Valuable Player    
Men’s Premier League UWA City Beach Bears Florian Naroska
Reserve Men’s League UWA City Beach Mac Equity Bulls Fraser Smith
Reserve Men’s League UWA City Beach PCs David Culllingford
Men’s Division 1 UWA City Beach Dugongs Ben Vittino
Men’s Division 1 UWA City Beach Oils Charlie Liggins
Men’s Division 3 UWA City Beach Bears Ray Mayers
Men’s Division 3 UWA City Beach Dropbears Tom Stewart
Men’s Division 3 UWA City Beach Growlers Brendan Lear
Men’s Division 3 UWA City Beach TBAs Pat Williams
Men’s Division 4 UWA City Beach Bears Col Wedd
Men’s Division 4 UWA City Beach Masters Josh Everett
Women’s Premier League UWA City Beach Tess Hosking
Reserve Women’s League UWA City Beach Bears Georgia Storey
Women’s Division 2 UWA City Beach Sapphires Margie O’Connor
Women’s Division 3 UWA City Beach Sisters Debra Bow
Women’s Division 3 UWA City Beach Spirit Sisters Penny Regan

Junior Premierships!!!

16A boys

A big congratulations to the 5 Junior teams who won their Grand Finals on the weekend!

We had 7 teams make the GF and 5 teams win – the other 2 teams (U14 boys and girls) lost to their mates in exciting Club derbys.

The future of our club is looking strong! 

Well done and THANK YOU to all Junior Coaches and Managers who make it possible for our kids to play this great game of water polo.

Special acknowledgement to our Development Coaches Damian Kelly and Scott Schweikle on the outstanding performances of the junior teams this year.

Good luck to our 14’s and 18’s who are playing nationals in the next 2 weeks!


U14A Golds def U14A Bears

U16A Bears def Triton

U18 Bears def Melville Marlins


14A golds                       16A girls                18A girls


U14A Blues def U14A Bears

U16A Blues def Triton


16A boys            14A boys

Reminder: Final FlippaBall Friday 31 March!

Special times as follows on Friday 31 March :  Year 2/3, 4.30pm.  Year 4, 5pm.  Year 5/6 Girls, 5.30pm.  Year 5/6 Boys, 6pm.

A great final night of FlippaBall for 2016 with hundreds of happy FlippaBallers! Thanks to the Under 14 State League girls for taking on BBQ and refereeing duties.  We look forward to seeing the Under 14 State League boys behind the BBQ and with a whistle in hand, next term.

Fabulous Friday night FlippaBall fun for the whole family returns 3 February, 2017.   Our 16/17 season finishes on Friday 31 March.

A big thank you to Damian Kelly and Jackie Vittino for making it all possible…..enjoy a well earned break you two!!!