Come and Try & October Holiday Fun!





There is one more chance to “Come and Try”!

Friday 14th October, 6pm to 7pm

at the outdoor water polo pool at HBF Stadium.  Please note participants will have to pay pool entry.

Register your interest at
Download our flyer for more info. Share this with your friends and school and bring a group along!


FlippaBall and DSC Camp for boys and girls

Register here for FlippaBall / DSC Camp

For those looking to get a head start on the season we are running a new and improved, action packed, fun filled junior water polo camp, for children aged 7-12, in the second week of the October school holidays.  This camp is for girls and boys new to Flippaball through to children who have had previous experience playing Flippaball or DSC.

Date:     Monday 3 October to Friday 7 October, 2016

Time:     8.30am to 11.30am

Venue:   HBF Stadium (outdoor water polo pool)

Cost:      $150 plus pool entry

We have a great line up of coaches including Damian Kelly, Vaughn Thomson, Samantha Shead and Rio Olympic player George Ford.

Places filling quickly, so register now!

Under 14 State League Camp for boys and girls

Register here for Under 14 State League Camp

Date:     Monday 3 October to Friday 7 October, 2016

Time:     2pm to 5pm

Venue:   HBF Stadium (outdoor water polo pool)

Cost:       $175 plus pool entry

Coaches include Head Men’s coach and triple Olympian Andrei Kovalenko!

All camp queries to


Bye George, he’s off to Rio!

Courtesy of Water Polo Australia

Congratulations George Ford!  George has been selected in the Australian Men’s Water Polo Team heading off to the Rio Olympics in August.  This is George’s first Olympic Games.  It is also the first time the UWA City Beach Water Polo Club has had a current player in the Olympic Games.  George started his water polo career as a junior with the Dolphins Water Polo Club before moving to City Beach and the UWA Torpedoes National League team.  We wish him all the best on this outstanding achievement.

We also congratulate fellow WA players, Joel Swift and Aaron Younger.

Fantastic news for Western Australian Water Polo!

Watch the announcement here…/

Courtesy of Water Polo Australia
Courtesy of Water Polo Australia

More Gold for UWA City Beach!


Congratulations to our Under 18 Boys on wining gold, for the second year in a row, at the recent National Championships. (HBF Stadium, Perth, April 11-16)

The UWA City Beach Bears and UNSW Wests Magpies were deadlocked at five all at the end of the first quarter of the grand final but the Bears prevailed, winning 16-10.  A fantastic finale for Connor Smith, Jed Thompson and MVP of the tournament Tim Putt who have played their last game of junior water polo for the Club.

Our Under 18 boys were well supported. Thanks to all the parents, in particular coach Brent Thompson, together with his helpers Florian Naroska, Steven Kyriakou and Damian Kelly.  Also to Andrew Konowalous for the fabulous photos.

Special mention to all the Club members, past and present, who came down to support our boys, especially during their semi-final against Melville Sharks and then the grand-final.

If there was a congeniality award it would have to go to our Under 18 Girls, who made the championship group and finished eighth of fifteen teams. They offered wonderful support to all the visiting and home teams.  Congratulations to the Melville Marlins who won the girls grand final, giving Western Australia the double win.

UWA City Beach now hold the 14 boys (2015 and 2016), 16 boys (2015), 18 boys (2015 and 2016) and the NWPL Men’s title (2016). This has never been done by any Club in the history of Australian water polo.

U18PerthBoysAll Under18Perth U18Perth2016U18PerthBoysFirst

For more information see


Senior Awards Night

UWA CB towels

UWA CB towels

Congratulations to the following senior players who were awarded Fairest and Best, as voted by the referees, and awarded towels at the Senior Windup at the Village Bar in Subiaco on 1 April 2016.

Division 3 Spirit Sisters – Nicole Bailey

Division 3 Sisters – Lucy Houghton

A Reserve Women – Madison Rigo

Women’s Premier League – Dayna O’Leary

Division 4 Reds – Brett Pateman

Division 3 TBA – Arthur Schotgerrits

Division 3 Growlers – Simon Phillips & Andrew Meyer & Quaid Lorcan

Division 3 Drop Bears – Tom Stewart

Division 2 Bears– Kevin Roberts

A Reserve Blacks – Blake Fabling & William Lantzke

A Reserve Oils – Ben Vittino & Brad Hopkins

A Reserve Draught – Tom Sangster

A Reserve Kinetics – Ben McCleery

Men’s Premier League – Milos Vukicevic (AKA Yogi)

In addition to these awards congratulations to –

Senior Women’s Captain Kelle Mason for winning the outstanding contribution to women’s water polo award

The ubiquitous Paul Lilleyman for winning the Polo Bear of the Year (best club person / volunteer) award

And 2016 premiership winners the Premier League Men for winning the Steve O’Keefe team of the season award.

Huge thanks to Senior Men’s Captain Dan Toleman for organising the senior wind up.

Windup 1 April 16

(Kelle Mason and Dan Toleman)


Under 16 Boys win Gold in Hobart to give City Beach the Trifecta!

Hobart 2015

Congratulations to the Under 16 Bears team who won gold at the Under 16 National Club Championships in October.

Thirty teams from around Australia competed over six days culminating in the City Beach Bears playing cross town rival and last year’s premiers Melville Sharks in the grand final.

The team comprised of Christian Kyriakou, Blake Fabling, Lachlan Vos, Daniel Vittino, Mitchell Atkinson, Will Lantzke, Oliver Davis, Riley Maurich, Josh Powell and Max Garbutt-Wilkins with special mention to Harry Konowalous who was awarded Goal Keeper of the Tournament.

For the full game report go to

Following on from an outstanding local summer season City Beach won the title at the Boy’s Under 14, Under 16 and Under 18 National Club Championships.

Proud President, Mr Peter Hughes, thanked the players, the parents, and everyone involved, in particular the Boy’s Head Coach – Mr Andrei Kovalenko and the Junior Co-Ordinator – Mr Damian Kelly, for their dedication and commitment.

Hobart 2015